My thoughts on WAB

06-05-2019 11:41 PM
simoxu
by MVP Regular Contributor
MVP Regular Contributor
9 13 4,370

As a developer I used WAB Developer Edition on two occasions in the last 3 years. Here are some of my thoughts.

1. Some important functions are missing in the out-of-box widgets. just think what you will do on the digital map: I will select features (by attribute or by interacting with the map), add / remove the new selection to / from my existing selection. But the Select Widget does none of this. and the Select widget only works for visible feature layers, no tricks can be done on the map service to make it seemingly selectable.

2. Actually the Query widget is more like a selection widget if a confusing and useless (most of time) temporary layer not being created for every query. Can't we just create a temporary memory layer which is managed by the application rather than by the user?? Most of user don't even know a layer is created for this operation. If I need my users to select on the map service (better performance in some cases, advanced cartography), I have to let them do a query first before they can select, what?? 

3. There are no Select By Attribute function. Instead, they provide two filter widgets , Filter and  Group Filter. But sometimes I need simply select and highlight features rather than aggressively filter out other features. don't we do this all the time in the desktop GIS?