How to automate a process to find the banks of a stream or river?

11-23-2012 12:18 PM
Labels (1)
GinaKiani
New Contributor
Hello
I am a pretty novice user taking a USC GIST Master Certification with a final project to use GIS to solve a spatial problem
My model has several steps and I am stuck on trying to automate a process to find the banks of an area where the flow accumulation is greatest
Does anyone have any ideas which tool or process would be used to find the banks or highest elevation around a stream or river?
I am working with a DEM layer and though I may be able to visually identify the bank areas, is there a way to automate a polygon for the river or stream that encloses the banks of the stream as the outer border of the polygon
I really appreciate any help and input for solutions to this objective
Thanks so much!!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
BikashSherchan
New Contributor
My quick suggestion is to go for HEC-GeoRAS which is an ArcGIS extension and freely available to download. You can define bank lines and flood boundaries together with cross-sections and export to HEC-RAS as a geometry file with which you can do steady or unsteady flow analysis according to your requirements.

Good Luck
Bikash
0 Kudos
MarkBoucher
Occasional Contributor III
If your DEM grids are small/fine enough to distinguish the flatter bottom and floodplain from the banks, and you have a polyline defining the stream/river, it seems you would be able to create a slope raster from the DEM, buffer the stream and use the buffer to extract the slope around the stream/river and determine a slope that would distinguish the banks from the stream/river bed. Then you could use the Con() function to ID the grids with slopes w/in a certain range or above a certain value and this would ID the banks.
0 Kudos
TroyBungard
New Contributor II