Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component

Jump to solution
03-10-2014 02:35 AM
LeonoreBehr
New Contributor
Hi,

I'm new to Archydro and have installed Archydro in ArcMap 10.1. Everytime I try to run one of the applications like calculating slope or flowdirection out of my .grd or .tif the Error  "HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component" (or in my case in German: "Beim Aufruf einer COM-Komponente wurde ein HRESULT E_FAIL-Fehler zurückgegeben.") appears.
I have a huge DEM to work with and wanted to calculate the Catchment area.

Does anyone know what the cuase of this error could be? I already shortened the workpath and the filename but this didn't help.

Thanks in advance!!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarkBoucher
Occasional Contributor III
Welcome to the forum.

This is a common error that I encounter when working with data over the network. If you have your data on the network, copy the data on your local C: drive, start a new mxd. The data that needs to be on the C: drive is minimal.** The other layers can remain on the network. See if that will stop the error from occurring. You will also find the processing goes much faster. When you are done, you can copy the project directory back to the network for "safe keeping". Changing the mxd properties (File>Map Document Properties) to "store relative pathnames to data sources", allows you to copy your project directories from the C: drive to a network drive after you are done.

The thread in a forum "sticky" is a link in my signature. This has several tips for running Arc Hydro including what I mentioned above.

(Sorry, no German translation here. This may help if you  need it: http://translate.google.com/#en/de/).