ArcHydro/HECGeoHMS Generate Project Error

11-25-2016 10:57 AM
Jomar_PaulRomero
New Contributor

Hello Mr. MBoucher21‌,

I am Jomar, and I am new in using ArcHydro and HEC GeoHMS. 

I wanted to ask for your help regarding the error that I have encountered in generating my project in HEC GeoHMS.

I always encounter this problem whenever I generate a new project. The error reads as:

"System.Runtime.IteropServices.COMException (0x80004005): Error

HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.

at ESRI.ArcGIS.GeoprocessorClass.Execute(StringName, IVariantArray ipValues, ITrackCancel pTrackCancel)

at

ESRI.APWR.HEC GeoHMS10.GeneralProject.GenerateProjectLayersWk(ApLayers apLayers, String& exMessage)"

I have already followed the instructions in the manual, as well as the tips from other people in some forums, but still I encounter the same problem when generating a new project.

Can you help me in figuring out how to solve this? 

Thanks!

Best regards,

Jomar Paul Romero

0 Kudos
6 Replies
MarkBoucher
Occasional Contributor III

Jomar,

I don't recall running into that error when generating an HMS project using GeoHMS. However, I have not repeatedly used GeoHMS to generate a lot of projects. I'd say I've used it less than a dozen times. Also, it has been a long time since I have used GeoHMS.

The error "System.Runtime.IteropServices.COMException (0x80004005): Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component." is a very generic error message. The HRESULT is a "tag" for a type of error code to distinguish certain error codes from other error codes. (HRESULT - Wikipedia ).

I am not a systems administrator. I don't have training on database structure. I'm no expert on discerning network or database errors, let along Arc Map errors. Having said that, I have gotten around this mysterious type of error by

• simplifying the names of layers, and
  • running the Arc Hydro project on my local drive and on a network server.