Determining positions relative to known locations along a highway

Jump to solution
11-17-2015 07:38 AM
BradFreeman
New Contributor II

Hello,

I am a GIS student working on a project and am trying to determine exact x-y coordinates associated with numerous animal-vehicle collisions along a major highway. I have known x-y coordinates of several landmarks and distances that animal-vehicle collisions occurred from the landmarks (for example; 500m east of Arnold mine site, 300m west of highway 5 and 272 junction, etc..). For example if Arnold Mine site is located at UTM coordinates 50000m easting and 10000m northing, I cannot simply add 500m, for 50500m easting and 10000m northing because the location occurs along a highway which is not perfectly horizontal and thus will have changing y coordinates as well. I was wondering if anybody can help with a method which may allow me to accurately place these locations at known distances from landmarks along a highway.

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor

This can be solved with linear referencing (LR) to get exact positions on a road relative to an intersection or any point feature.  If you create LR routes from your road network and create intersection points with the cross street name pairs or landmark names you can use them to get the relative measure of any intersection location and offset up or down the road relative to it.