Hi, I'm a newbie attempting to build a fire service map book. What inputs are necessary?

10-30-2018 06:51 PM
BuckySwider
Occasional Contributor

Hi guys, a mapping newbie/volunteer fire officer here.  I'm attempting to create a fire run book using the "Fire Service Maps" add-on on ArcGIS PRO 2.2.  Some really basic stuff is stumping me already.

I did procure parcel outlines and Streets shapefiles from the county, but I don't know when/where to use them.  I'm going through the tasks and I'm at "Load data into SiteAddressPoint feature class".  Here's what it's giving me the option of doing: 

Instructions from task pane

I suppose I could just forge forward and try to see if the streets shapefile is able to be pulled in here, but I thought it'd be better if I asked first.  And when should I import the parcel outlines shapefile?

Sorry for the newb question.  (And I'm sure I'll have more to come!)

Thanks!  

0 Kudos
57 Replies
BuckySwider
Occasional Contributor

Hey, you started answering my follow-up question before I even asked it!  Nice! 

Andy yes, I would really love to be able to align my own polygons, because as you point out, the grids automagically chosen are never optimal- breaking up small neighborhoods and major intersections as if it was its mission.  

As I am a GIS novice, I guess I will have some learning to do to create my own grid/polygons.... I guess I have some time while I wait for the "Create run book" process to be fixed!!! 

0 Kudos
BuckySwider
Occasional Contributor

Thanks much Brian!  After a sleep-deprived weekend (I made the most of the extra hour!) I have pretty much everything lined up- I did, however, bomb in the run book creation due to what seems to be a know bug.