Changing data frame boundaries for pattern analysis

02-06-2014 06:37 PM
AdamLeClair
New Contributor
Hi folks,

I've been working with Arc for a couple of years but only recently got in to using the spatial statistics tool set and I'm running in to a couple of problems I feel like I should be able to fix easily but can't figure out how.

I've got a data set mapping small scale disturbance features generated through feature extraction in Envi. The image I analyzed is perfectly square, but in this image there are a few large active sand dunes that were identical to the features I was looking for from a spectral point of view. At the segmentation scales I had to use, they were torpedoing my accuracy so I created a grid that I imposed over the image to mask any grid cells with active sand dune in them. This has left a decent number of large, irregularly shaped holes in my classification output.

I'm now trying to do an average nearest neighbor analysis, but the default frame size is the minimum rectangle that fits the input feature class (my classification-result shapefile), which in this case is the entire frame of the original image. It appears to be considering the areas that I masked and never classified as not having any features, rather than having no values, which seems to be skewing the results to the extremely clustered side.