Select to view content in your preferred language

arithmetic operation of point fetures over raster cell area

Jump to solution
08-16-2015 10:04 AM
BrettBonner
New Contributor

I have a raster file with a human population count for each raster cell.

I have another layer with x,y,z vector point features.

I want to sum the z values of all point features that lie within each raster cell area, and divide that sum by the human population value in the raster cell. Ultimately I want to map z-per-capita.

How should I approach this exercise and what tools should I use within my evaluation copy of ArcMap 10.3? I am new to GIS and the learning curve for ArcGIS is immense, so I hope my question makes sense.

If there is a tutorial guide or video with a roughly similar operation, please let me know.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BrettBonner
New Contributor

This is what I ended up performing:

I created a fishnet to the extents and according to the cell size of the raster, and converted the fishnet to polygons.

Then I converted the raster to point feature centroids.

Next, I used a spatial join to join the point feature centroids and also the sum of point features within the polygons created from the fishnet.

Finally, using the attribute table I created a new field and simply divided by the once-raster values column by the point feature sum column. Voila I have performed arithmetic using raster z-values.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
2 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

I'm not so sure about the "makes sense" part, but strictly speaking you could convert your x,y,z points to raster: Point to Raster—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop , using the Z as value field and SUM as cell assignment. This will yield a raster with the Z values summed per cell (make sure you set the geoprocessing environment to match the extent, cellsize and snap raster to the other population raster you already have.