I'm getting an 'unexpected error' in _mapping.py, line 696

02-22-2018 09:49 AM
bradenmiller
New Contributor III

I'm trying to use the findAndReplaceWorkspacePath function and I'm getting an error in the utils.py & _mapping.py modules.

Here's the line from _mapping.py w the error (696)  return convertArcObjectToPythonObject(self._arc_object.findAndReplaceWorkspacePath(*gp_fixargs((find_workspace_path, replace_workspace_path, validate), True)))

I'm using PyScripter3.2.2.0, Windows 7, ArcGIS 10.4.1.  I just tried updating to the newest version of Python and that didn't do anything; same error.

My code is very basic.  I'm a python beginner, looking to update a series of .lyr files.  I'm working off of code from someone else that initially pulled in .lyr file paths from a text file, but I scaled it back to test on a single .lyr file first.

import sys, string, os, arcpy

new_wp = r" < new path > "

layer_file = r" < file path > "

lyrFile = arcpy.mapping.Layer(layer_file)

old_wp = lyrFile.workspacePath

lyrFile.findAndReplaceWorkspacePath(old_wp,new_wp)

lyrFile.save()

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Throw print statements in, it is difficult to see what the problem is unless the results up to the point of failure are known

0 Kudos
bradenmiller
New Contributor III

I added these lines just before the findAndReplaceWorkspacePath call and everything looked as expected.

print layer_file
print lyrFile
print old_wp

I did see this expanded error messaging though, which I had missed before.  But, it doesn't really tell me anything.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File " < file path >", line 19, in <module>
lyrFile.findAndReplaceWorkspacePath(old_wp,new_wp)
File "C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\Desktop10.4\ArcPy\arcpy\utils.py", line 182, in fn_
return fn(*args, **kw)
File "C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\Desktop10.4\ArcPy\arcpy\_mapping.py", line 696, in findAndReplaceWorkspacePath