How to utilize a Layer's selectability in Python code?

03-03-2015 08:25 AM
DavidGranata
New Contributor II

Currently the interactive ArcMap GUI allows setting a layers selectability.  Interactively tool processing is based on a layer's selectability.  Is there a way to use "selectability" in Python?  I understand that in ArcObjects there is a way.  Has anyone create a callable "module" or have a workaround where "selectability" can be determined in Python code?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

It is not exposed through arcpy...  but you could use ArcObjects through Python. Some more pointers can be found here: ArcObjects in Python

0 Kudos
DavidGranata
New Contributor II

Hi Xander,

I am new to Python and have no experience with ArcObjects.  Do you know if there is a module already created that can be downloaded and (hopefully) simply called from Python?

I am not in a position to create an ArcObject subroutine to call.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
XanderBakker

If you are new to Python and have no experience with ArcObjects, then this will be a huge challenge...

Maybe you can elaborate a little on what you would like to do with the "selectability"  of a layer. There might be other possibilities that don't require the use of ArcObjects...

Useful resources for learning Python and Arcpy

Suggestions are made for learning Python:

Seeking advice on how to go about learning Python

Learning Python

You can also have a look at my blog Some Python Snippets

In case you know Python and want to learn arcpy, then the Help is a very values resource: ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

And also these posts are worth mentioning:

python - What are some resources for learning ArcPy? - Geographic Information Systems Stack Exchange

Seven easy ways to start learning Python and ArcPy | Support Services Blog  (point 6 and 7)

0 Kudos
DavidGranata
New Contributor II

Xander,