Create a perpendicular line to a stream segment and plot elevation profile

07-25-2013 09:52 AM
MohamedJalloh1
New Contributor
I am trying to create a python-addin button such that when I click on a stream it will create a perpendicular line to the stream at that point (or if by some error I click very close to the stream it will snap to the stream). I want to be able to specify the length of the line.Once it has created the line as a shape-file, it should then interpolate shape(elevation) from a DEM(Lidar) and plot the elevation profile.My intention is to be able to use GIS to get an idea of the width to depth ratio of a stream before ground truthing and I want to do this with just one click of a mouse button using ArcGIS.I have very little background on coding and this is my first time doing this.If any one out there have done something similar and can help me I will appreciate.

Thanks
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
GerryGabrisch
Occasional Contributor III
This tool will create a perpendicular line at a user defined length from the center ( or end nodes) of the line.  It is not exactly what you want but the code is a starting point to solving your problem.
ftp://lnnr.lummi-nsn.gov/GIS_Scripts/createperpendicularlines.zip
0 Kudos
JW_Mapguy
New Contributor II

How about creating perpendicular intersecting lines at specific points along the line, as defined by actual points that run along the line at arbitrary distances from each other? So I have a line, and along that line there are six points. I want intersecting lines drawn at each of those points.

0 Kudos
GerryGabrisch
Occasional Contributor III