Best way to add values to a string for UpdateCursor

Jump to solution
07-06-2021 03:43 PM
JamesWilcox1970
New Contributor III

I am still really new to Python and ArcPy. We have a pair of feature classes, one with an index grid and the other with project locations. We are trying to create a table that shows what index grid cells each project intersects.

I have a script that performs Intersect on the two feature classes, creates a new table (indexTable) , adds the two needed fields: Label (the project number) and PageName (the index grid), and populates Label using an InsertCursor. I know that I eventually need to use an UpdateCursor with an update string to update PageName, but I am at a loss on how to properly do it, since some of the projects intersect more than one grid cell. 

Currently, I have a SearchCursor to get the data from the Intersect feature class, but it breaks with "SystemError: error return without exception set".

# UpdateCursor to add all index grid cells for each label
gridList = [r for r in arcpy.da.SearchCursor(intersectOut, ("Label", "PageName"))]  # List from intersection
arcpy.AddMessage("Grid list = {}".format(gridList))  # For debugging
with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(indexTable, ("Label", "PageName")) as uCursor:
    for row in uCursor:
        name_field = "Label"
        expression = u'{} = {}'.format(arcpy.AddFieldDelimiters(intersectOut, name_field), row[0])
        # expression = "Label = '" + row[0] + "'"
        with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(intersectOut, ("Label", "PageName"), where_clause=expression) as sCursor:
            gridString = ""
            if gridString == "":
                gridString = gridString + sCursor[1]
            else:
                gridString = gridString + ", " + sCursor[1]

arcpy.AddMessage(gridString)
    # Before going to the next record in the site index table write this list to the appropriate field.
        row[1] = gridString
        uCursor.updateRow(row)