Automate overwrite web layer, feature class

06-14-2018 12:53 AM
EinarDørheim1
New Contributor III

Hi 

I'm trying to automate an update process for one of my hosted features in portal. So far I have:

1. Solved the automatic download and adjustment of the file in question. (using powershell/task scheduler)

2. exportet the python code that runs the "Geocode Addresses" tool on my file, saves it in a file gdb. 

3. manually published the feature class with the "overwrite web layer" function. 

My challange is to automate step 3, and connect it to step 2. 

Please keep in mind that I'm completely new to scripting/python. 

I'm currently using ArcGIS Pro 2.1.0, and have admin rights on the portal. 

I have looked at thise sites, and think they describe partly how to solve my issue, I'm just not able to pick out the relevant parts and build a script that works for my particular problem..

community.esri.com "using python to overwrite a feature layer"

developers.arcgis.com python, overwriting feature layers

esri updating-your-hosted-feature-services-with-arcgis-pro-and-the-arcgis-api-for-python

79 Replies
AmandaBishop2018
New Contributor III

Hello Jake,

Your script is awesome and I have successfully used it to updated a feature layer on my AGOL organization account.  The only issue I am facing now is to be able to preserve the "allow export data" option.

Please help!

Amanda

0 Kudos
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Amanda,

Try updating the following line to include the allow_exporting parameter:

arcpy.mp.CreateWebLayerSDDraft(mp, sddraft, sd_fs_name, ‘MY_HOSTED_SERVICES’, ‘FEATURE_ACCESS’,", True, True, allow_exporting=True)
0 Kudos
AmandaBishop2018
New Contributor III

Worked perfectly!  Another questions... since I'm fairly new to automating this task... How would I preserve the thumbnail pic?

0 Kudos
AmandaBishop2018
New Contributor III

And also... with the allow export option.. it seems to allow the export but not to a fgdb format?

0 Kudos