Select to view content in your preferred language

Is ArcGIS Online enough?

02-23-2024 06:35 AM
AniaWiatr
New Contributor II

Hello,

So I am still learning to understand the whole system of GIS mapping for the plant collection. Is Arc Gis Onlline alone enough to start mapping trees and shrubs in our gardens? Is it essential to have a second software (like Iris BG etc) in conjunction with ArcGIS to do plant mapping? Thanks!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Ed_
by MVP Regular Contributor
MVP Regular Contributor

If you want more options while mapping then yes I would highly recommend using ArcGIS Pro software via Windows computer (and the computer specs should obviously also meet the minimum software hardware requirements). 

Question | Analyze | Visualize
0 Kudos
AniaWiatr
New Contributor II

Thanks Ed. I am a very beginner and was warned that the desktop Pro version needs more training and learning curve. Looking for an option where I can just start and have a better understanding of what I would need in the future.

Ed_
by MVP Regular Contributor
MVP Regular Contributor

In that case yes AGOL is enough for now 🙂

Question | Analyze | Visualize
Laurel_Hill
New Contributor III

Hi @AniaWiatr - I agree with @Ed_  that AGOL has the capability and flexibility to begin building a map of trees and shrubs at the gorgeous  Philbrook Museum of Art. Do you have AGOL yet? Just because I'm curious, and to help Esri employees who might read this (like @AndresVazquez ;-), can you share a little bit more about your vision for the mapping project? It sounds like you will be starting from scratch? Do you all have a collections manager, collections policy, etc.? How deep into the records are you hoping to get (i.e., what fields will you need/want?). I do think that AGOL (if needed, through the Esri Nonprofit Program) could get you going. Good luck!

0 Kudos
AniaWiatr
New Contributor II