Before closing a Bug in ESRI software, reach out to the customer who found it to approve the resolution, work around or closure of the defect.

07-10-2020 11:32 AM
FionaRenton1
Occasional Contributor II

Before closing a Bug in the ESRI software, reach out to the customer who found it to approve the resolution, workaround or reason to close it.

Recently the ESRI development team decided not to fix a bug I found without any interaction with me. (#BUG-000130643) 

There is no way to interact with the team that made the decision. Technical support are not able to reopen bugs.

I also work in IT. If I fix a defect in an application I have to get approval from the customer that the resolution is acceptable before closing the ticket. Please make this standard practice at ESRI.

Please enhance ESRI customer service and have the development team work directly with customers on resolving bugs.

1 Comment
KoryKramer
Status changed to: Closed

Hi @FionaRenton1 I apologize that you encountered this bug and that there was confusion around its handling. In the end, the bug you refer to was addressed, and the following explanation was provided through Support channels: https://support.esri.com/en/bugs/nimbus/QlVHLTAwMDEzMDY0Mw==

"This is a duplicate of BUG-000130328: While this was previously a known limit, an enhancement to the Create Feature Class tool and a refinement of the XY Table To Point code result in the desired behavior in ArcGIS Pro 2.7."