New on board for training and ready to soak it up.

01-28-2022 12:49 AM
RKathieMcClung
New Contributor III

Hello,

I'm RKathie. I go by Kathie.  I am new on board and ready to soak up whatever I can. I know there are a lot of directions to go in GIS. I was recently awarded a license for a year's subscription. I volunteer as an alumni member of an environmental national organization and at the student chapter where I graduated in environmental science. I decided to take some time to learn about GIS and had another short time with a license before. This time I have more available time to soak up as much as I can. I wondered if it was my enthusiasm that gained the license, or if it was a way to shut me up because I couldn't stop talking about it. 🙂 

I first became interested when I was taking remote sensing and did an assignment about a man using satellite imagery to help people in Africa locate wells that they could not see on the ground. I really need to memorize that resource since I mention it when explaining how it first inspired me. It was because monitoring and remote sensing brought my first interests in the use of the Drone as a possibility of being help to those with real concerns like during water shortages and locating wells. I also learned about esri by attending conferences where there were esri employees who were presenting and one was using a Drone and also used GIS. 

I have a lot of interests, including academic research, so I could easily get caught up in too many things at once. ArcGIS is showing me right away to focus. In the meantime, I will soak up as much as I can and continue exploring the variety of uses GIS can be used. It is definitely a great set of tools to have for a number of tasks. One example, Story telling, is a great way to reach out to lay people who do well with conversational context interpretation and imagery with it is a double win.