My Maps basemap won't appear in Story Tour

Jump to solution
11-20-2020 09:37 PM
KateSedor
New Contributor

Hello! I'm new to ArcGIS and I'm trying to create a Story Map Tour using a georeferenced scan that I've uploaded to My Maps. (I followed all the steps in this tutorial to georeference the image.) When I go to build the Tour and select my custom basemap in Map Options, however, the map I select doesn't actually show up in the Tour builder. I just get a blank, completely gray background for my first tour point. Any advice is appreciated!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
PeterKnoop
MVP Regular Contributor

Hi @KateSedor, it is an issue with Express Map initially displaying your custom basemap at the wrong location and scale when you first select it. For some reason it is defaulting to full zoom and 10N, 0E as the center of the map, whereas a custom basemap created following the steps in the tutorial should be located with its upper-left corner at 0N, 0E, and has an extent that does not expand much beyond that location.

A workaround for this is manually place a tour point at 0N, 0E, prior to switching to your custom basemap. Then, when you switch to your custom basemap, you can then use that tour point as a guide to pan and zoom to bring your custom basemap into view.

As custom basemaps like this work as expected in other map sections in StoryMaps, I suspect this is a bug specific to the Explorer type of Map Tour, which is still in Beta. It seems to be incorrectly determining the extent and scale of custom basemaps when they have such a small extent.

Hope that helps.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
HeatherSmith
Esri Contributor

Hello @KateSedor , I have not tried this method myself, so I can't offer very concrete advice, but one thing I would check for is the scale. Does the image appear when you zoom in or out? If you made a wider range of Levels of detail (see step 5) it might help.