Using Band Composite on two rasters with the same band...

06-04-2019 06:59 AM
Labels (2)
ChristianTranholm
New Contributor

I have been struggling with this problem for some time - I am rather new to ArcGIS Pro and apologize in advance if this is trivial, but I really need to find out what I am doing wrong...

I have a set of Sentinel 2 images with just one band each (NDVI or NDRE) and a set of drone photos that are multispectral.

I used Extract Band to isolate NDVI respectively NDRE in the drone photos as well and now I want to combine drone and sattelite derived rasters so I can use Chart to see how well they fit together (they were taken at almost the same time over the same fields and I need to make an estimate of the correlation between NDVI/NDRE in the two...).

But when I try to do this I end up with a new raster that is identical to the original one-band drone raster..?

0 Kudos
2 Replies
GuenterDoerffel
Esri Contributor

Christian,

Let me understand this – before I suggest you a solution:

1) You have several Sentinel 2 images and from those you DERIVE NDVI/NDRE … so the result is one-band float data?

Q1: Do you have those in ONE MosaicDataset and derive the result with a raster function from it?

2) You have several drone images, 4 band at least with NIR and DERIVE NDVI/NDRE from those too – result being one-band float again?

Q2: Same as Q1

The easiest now would be to substract those from each other – by creating either (Option1 ) a referenced Mosaic on one of the two above and there use the

Arithmetic function to substract the other, or (Option 2) do the same integrated into one of the primary Mosaics. – my opinion is the first one is clearer for future use and maintenance and the step with the charts to follow