Scanned Oblique Aerials

05-12-2020 06:17 AM
TerryEagan
New Contributor

Hi there -

I am a research librarian with some skills in GIS but I have a problem I am not sure how to solve. I have approximately 150 oblique aerials from 1958-1960 that have been scanned as TIFFs. Each photo is approximately 50MB. I would like to create a web based atlas that genealogists or researchers could use that would deliver these images, like in an oriented imagery catalog. However, I don't know the best way to go about preparing such a project. Some of the questions I have are:

• Should I convert the TIFFs to jpgs?
  • Should I reorient the images 90 degrees so they reflect a true north orientation? Since the aerials were taken at a certain angle, I find in rotating them they become more difficult to interpret.
  • I need to geo reference them and are there good tutorials for handling an oblique image?

Are there any good tutorials for working with older images. Oh, the coverage of these aerials is not continuous across an area. These were aerials created in the City of Tampa for specific properties that were either being annexed or under some type of government review. The aerials are piecemeal in their coverage. 

0 Kudos
2 Replies
KoryKramer
Esri Community Moderator

Hi Terry Eagan‌ 

Hopefully somebody in the Imagery and Remote Sensing‌ space can provide some tips, guidance, and/or resources!

PeterBecker
Esri Regular Contributor