Measuring Chlorophyll-a concentration and sea level temperature

07-04-2018 09:37 AM
VigneshP1
New Contributor II

Hi everyone,

I am trying to identify how to measure chlorophyll-a concentration and the sea level temperature using the satellite imagery (modis aqua data). Is it possible for it to be measured by using arcgis? 

Thanks. 

0 Kudos
4 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Save me a search: what has your research uncovered, and why do you think it wouldn't be possible in ArcGIS?

0 Kudos
VigneshP1
New Contributor II

Thanks, Darren.

I am new to the ocean colour analysis using arcgis and been trying to find a source to learn on how do the analysis. I was not sure on how to do this and thought of asking some experts' advice on whether it is possible and if so, some link to learn the methodology. 

Any suggestions would be valuable.

Thank. 

0 Kudos
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

There is an Image Analysis toolbar in ArcGIS Desktop and apparently an Image Analysis Extension in ArcGIS Pro.  While not as extensive as dedicated imagery analysis programs, you can do some analysis using them.

What is the Image Analysis window?—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

Introduction to the ArcGIS Pro Image Analyst extension—ArcGIS Pro | ArcGIS Desktop 

I suspect a larger issue may be getting sensor data that matches your need.  That will take some research to determine.  You will need to determine what bands you will need to be able to correctly discriminate what you are seeking, then check the various data providers see if such data is available.

Chris Donohue, GISP

0 Kudos
VigneshP1
New Contributor II

Thanks, Chris.