How can I run ExportMosaicDatasetData from a script?

03-27-2017 01:33 PM
deleted-user-De598MZ4-kwO
New Contributor

Suppose I have a master collection of elevation data stored as a mosaic, with something like ZOrder to grade the data sources from best to worst.  I need to extract the best data to an output raster using an extent, cell size, and mask of my choosing.  I need to do this often for various needs and users, and want to automate this task.

The ArcGIS documentation lists two methods:  CopyRaster and ExportMosaicDatasetData.  The CopyRaster tool is fine for what it does, but is slow and will not apply a mask and, more importantly it won't change the cell size for me.  So it's worthless for my purposes.  The ExportMosaicDatasetData tool does everything I need, as long as I set up a graphic in ArcMap to control the extent and mask.  It's a good tool.  However, it only seems to run interactively as a dialog box within ArcMap.  I don't know of a way to get it into a Python script.  Solutions?

Can someone tell me what kind of resampling is used by ExportMosaicDatasetData?

As a smaller part of the same general problem, I would like to convert selected features from a layer into a graphic, but again this only seems to be available interactively by using a dialog box.  Is there a way to "ConvertFeaturesToGraphics" within a script?

Thanks for any help.  New to this forum, Tim.L

0 Kudos
2 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

do you have the link?  I see export, geometry, items and paths... ie

export-mosaic-dataset-items and the code examples are at the end of none of those are the ones to which you refer.

0 Kudos
HongXu
by Esri Contributor
Esri Contributor