Deep Learning to Assess Palm Tree - prepare_data problem

11-12-2019 05:32 AM
MichalRuš
New Contributor II

Hello,

this is my first post on this forum. I'm new to the concept of Deep Learning and I'm following the lesson "Use Deep Learning to Assess Palm Tree Health". I was able to follow this tutorial without a problem until I got stuck on prepare_data function with the following error:

prepare_data function error message

So I followed the suggestion and tried to install those packages again with the following result:

conda installation result

However that did not help. So I tried to install the latest versions of those packages as following:

That did not help either. So now I'm asking what am I doing wrong ?

My PC specs:

CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X

GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti with latest drivers

Latest NVIDIA CUDA Toolkit and cuDNN package installed.

I use ArcGIS Pro 2.4.2 trial

I haven't tested the Deep Learning tools in ArcGIS Pro yet. I suppose I have all necessary HW and SW installed to run either Pytorch or TensorFlow on my GPU but I don't want to do this before this problem is solved. Any possible testing would not make sense anyway without solving this issue. Anyone else got this problem ?

Thanks !

deep_learning #palm_trees prepare_data

34 Replies
MichalRuš
New Contributor II

Thanks for the suggestion Shaun ! This really helped !

But while executing the python script in jupyter lab I came to another error:

I believe the error produced by the float conversion function has something to do with a comma (,) symbol in the string value. Is it a problem of arcgis python implementation on Windows ? How can I correct this ?

0 Kudos
ShaunWalbridge
Esri Regular Contributor

Great!

That looks like a bug in the implementation of the Python API. If you're adventurous, you can try fixing with code like this:

python - How do I parse a string to a float or int? - Stack Overflow