Mosaic Datasets, Imagery Storage, and Analysis...

Jump to solution
01-06-2023 01:25 PM
Labels (3)
JM32
by
New Contributor III

Hi Everyone,

Looking for advice on imagery management and working with Mosaic Datasets. To start, here is a bit of background: I work for a local government and manage imagery from various vendors (primarily tiled orthoimagery). Formats are dominated by full resolution GeoTIFFs and compressed MrSIDs, and temporally range multiple years.

My management question is:

1. Does using the Windows Zip tool to compress a folder into a .zip file degrade image data in any way when storing it as a backup? From what I understand, zipping file folders uses lossless compression, but I can't say I'm an expert at this and am not sure how to tell if say 50 years from now, someone wants to unzip the data for use, will be the true original GeoTIFF data that was in there from the vendor? [Any insight on how others are storing backup data is welcome...currently I run with having working data for mosaic datasets on one server, and backup data on another, with a third external drive storing another backup copy]

Mosaic Dataset (MD) questions:

1. When you zoom in close on a tile in a MD, are you actually viewing the full resolution image tile stored in the image data source directory or is it just the pyramid built for that image?
  2. The "Download Rasters" functionally of a MD, does that allow you to download, or make an exact copy (no resampling or moving over pixels), of the original image tile you selected on the MD? Is the image data altered in any way when using this?

Analysis question: