Creating a mosaic dataset containing rasters from multiple dates

Jump to solution
06-26-2020 09:57 AM
KeonMonroe
New Contributor III

Hello - I am trying to follow this workflow outline from this ESRI page on creating a mosaic dataset containing rasters from multiple dates. Essentially, it recommends creating mosaic datasets for each year and then adding those to the master mosaic dataset which will contain imagery from all years.

I'm confused about the step to "Add a service as the overview" (nearly halfway down the page). It seems be recommending that I add an existing image service to work as an overview layer for the master mosaic dataset. However if this my first time setting up the imagery and mosaic datasets, wouldn't I first need to publish out a tile layer or something similar so I could achieve this? 

To elaborate, I am attempting to create a mosaic dataset with imagery from 2018 and 2020 (and then I have a master mosaic dataset containing the mosaic datasets for each year, as the worflow suggests). If I haven't published any image services yet, why is it recommended to add a service as the overview instead of updating overviews when creating the master mosaic dataset?  It seems like it would make more sense to publish each of the years as an image service, then add those layers to be used as overviews. 

Am I missing something here? 

Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
CodyBenkelman
Esri Regular Contributor

First, note you're looking at Help for ArcMap 10.3.  That is very old; are you using 10.3?  

Second, I'd recommend you look at this resource which is newer and should have very similar advice (and should be applicable to 10.x although most of us now use ArcGIS Pro.)

Introduction—Managing Preprocessed Orthophotos_Overview | ArcGIS