Have you ever wondered if I should get some kind of degree or I'm already beyond "GISP"

05-31-2023 02:06 PM
BillFox
MVP Frequent Contributor

For example, someone says I'm a GIS editor, layer designer, web app builder, GIS system designer, COGO editor, enterprise windows server admin, enterprise GIS admin, department/agency coordinator, GPS integrator, GIS trainer, etc., etc., etc. - I wonder if I should get some kind of degree or I'm already beyond "GISP"

Tags (1)
6 Replies
clt_cabq
Occasional Contributor III

Don't equate getting a GIS certification such as a GISP with getting a degree, these are very different things. For GIS practitioners this is the same difference between getting a degree in Engineering versus becoming a Professional Engineer, they serve different purposes and are separate processes. As for getting a degree, that's always a highly personal decision and depends on what you think you want out of it. If you are considering getting your GISP cert, take a good look at the requirements for that and the testing. I don't know if anyone has started developing any statistics about how critical a GISP is for obtaining work in this field or if there are appreciable benefits such as being able to command a higher salary by the fact of having it, but that might be interesting to research. 

JessicaHinz
New Contributor

I've also wondered about the statistics between GIS training levels. I am currently in a GIS position, but I have no formal training. My degree is in biology, I've worked in Natural Resources for 9 years, and I self-taught myself how to incorporate ArcGIS Field Maps into our data collection. Coding comes natural to me, so it was easy to learn, along with tutorials. I can say that I am more capable at using ArcGIS than one of the departmental professionals above me. So, what would having a certificate accomplish?

0 Kudos
clt_cabq