Water quality interpolation along the length of a river within a river polygon

04-01-2013 03:23 PM
SamHopkins
New Contributor III
I'm a GIS undergrad student involved with a project where I'm tasked with interpolating water quality data along a winding river (around 500km long but with a focus of a ~100km reach). I'm working mostly with phosphorus concentration values ranging from 0.0015-9.413 The data comes from water quality monitoring stations (point features) that I have snapped to within the river boundary polygon (which I have been using as a break line barrier).

The monitoring station data exists as a point feature class with a point for each measured water quality value. Some of these stations have values collected daily, while others monthly, and many as just a single value collected as part of a single project. This means that in some instances there are dozens (or hundreds) of points laying at the same coordinates. The resulting raster should interpolate using all points collected within a certain time period (mostly within a specific month).  The goal is to create a model that performs the interpolation based on a model parameter where the user selects a time frame.

Right now I'm using a model that selects points based on a collection date within a certain month, then interpolates using these points as input, and the river polygon as a barrier. Usually the selected month contains data from 4-7 stations; since some stations have points collected daily there are often dozens of overlapping features at one location with other locations containing only one point. I do not know how this effects the interpolation, ideally the average of all the overlapping values would be used as the value to interpolate with but what happens if I perform the interpolation including all of these overlapping points? Is there a way to automate that the mean of all these values is used? Or that only the median value point remains selected for the interpolation?