Spatial join with 50 million observations...

08-03-2011 02:24 PM
AndrewTschirhart
New Contributor
Hello,

I am using ArcGIS 9.3.1, and I am trying to match 50 million addresses that I have already geocoded to a polygon feature class.  I am using the GP tool Spatial Join, but after working with a tiny subset of my data, I think that this could take a month on the whole dataset...

Does anyone know of useful techniques I could use to speed up the process?  I have 8 processors and 16 GB of RAM on my machine, so I am thinking of splitting the two tables I'm joining into eight pieces each and running 8 simultaneous spatial joins in separate ArcMap windows, one for each thread.  Or can the "Add spatial index" geoprocessing tool help me here?  I am relatively new to ArcGIS and I only need to perform this process once, so I am trying to avoid writing a Python script, though if someone happened to have a premade solution for 9.3.1 that I could tweak, that would be very helpful.

Thank you very much for your time,

Andrew Tschirhart
0 Kudos
4 Replies
BruceHarold
Esri Regular Contributor
Hello Andrew

A framework for parallelizing a workflow like yours exists in an ArcGIS 10 sample script tool here:
http://resources.arcgis.com/gallery/file/geocoding/details?entryID=A284F7D9-1422-2418-7F50-BA718224C...
If you upgrade to 10 it isn't a big job to alter the script to perform Spatial Join.

If you need to stick to 9.3.1 then you'll need to create a Model that (for example) has an input parameter that selects a subset of addresses (say using modulo arithmetic, like OBJECTID mod 8 = 0, then 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 to make 8 possible non-overlapping selections).  Then you will need to run this Model in 8 concurrent ArcGIS sessions, and afterwards merge the results.

Regards
0 Kudos
AndrewTschirhart
New Contributor
Bruce,

Thank you very much for your help, I greatly appreciate it.