Hello all. I am new to GIS...

Jump to solution
12-18-2015 09:40 AM
CaroleWacta
Occasional Contributor

I am working on a file that has more data than I need.

It is a Parcel Data but I would like to extract Only the VACANT parcels and it seem to be the ones with a PO BOX under ADDRESS 3 column(just my assumption, correct me if I am wrong)... So my issue now is that I do not know how to Querry ONLY the parcels that have a POBOX because the POBOX have different numbers after BOX....

Do I do a field calculator and query

=

ADDRESS_3 = ' P O BOX *'

My question is, how do I get all PO BOX without having to put all numbers?

The data is attached.

Tks a lot

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

As Wes says, use LIKE. However, the query is as specific as you make it. For example, Wes' example will only return records that follow the pattern [space]P[space]O[space]Box[anything or nothing]. If you can get away with it, I would make it more general, for example:

ADDRESS_3 LIKE '%BOX %'

^ this would return anything containing the word BOX followed by a space.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
WesMiller
Regular Contributor III

Use the like operator, I would strongly scrutinize the data.

ADDRESS_3 LIKE ' P O BOX %'

You may also want to move to New to GIS​ or GIS

DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

As Wes says, use LIKE. However, the query is as specific as you make it. For example, Wes' example will only return records that follow the pattern [space]P[space]O[space]Box[anything or nothing]. If you can get away with it, I would make it more general, for example:

ADDRESS_3 LIKE '%BOX %'

^ this would return anything containing the word BOX followed by a space.

CaroleWacta
Occasional Contributor

This works perfectly...

Thank you a tonn

0 Kudos
CaroleWacta
Occasional Contributor

hank you very much

0 Kudos
ChrisSmith7
Frequent Contributor

Carole,