Get records that exist in one table but not another

06-11-2014 07:32 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: mleber

Hello, I am relatively new to using the model builder and I have a problem maybe someone could help me with. I have a table in a Geodatabase, and I have a shapefile. The geodatabase table for sake of argument has 1000 records, and the shapefile has 900 records. I would like a model that would pull out or extract those 100 records that exist in the geodatabase table but not in the shapefile. Is this easy to do, and does anyone have suggestions on how to go about this?

thanks
mike
0 Kudos
9 Replies
markdenil
Occasional Contributor III
If you have attributes that match for matching records in each file
you could join the smaller table to the larger using Add Join with KEEP_ALL
The records that do not have any attributes from the shapefile joined are the ones
unique to the featureclass

If you lack common fields for a table join, then
Select Layer By Location in the management toolbox will do something similar
again, it identifies the set common to both; the leftovers are the unique ones.
0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: rfairhur24

Hello, I am relatively new to using the model builder and I have a problem maybe someone could help me with. I have a table in a Geodatabase, and I have a shapefile. The geodatabase table for sake of argument has 1000 records, and the shapefile has 900 records. I would like a model that would pull out or extract those 100 records that exist in the geodatabase table but not in the shapefile. Is this easy to do, and does anyone have suggestions on how to go about this?

thanks
mike