Error 000539: Error running expression. UnboundlocalError: local varialble 'Value' referenced before assignment

Jump to solution
01-25-2019 11:14 AM
ChristaRiley
New Contributor

I am using the Calculate Field tool in model builder. I am new to Python, but modeled my code after something I had done in a previous model that worked well. Despite following similar syntax and rules, I am given an error message I don't recognize (see attachments). I’ve tried looking up similar issues and have not been able to find a solution. Current Depth contains numerical data.
Any insight would be appreciated.

Here is my code:

def assignValue(DWType, CurrentDepth):

if DWType == 'single':  

Value = ((90 - CurrentDepth) / 90) * 100

if DWType == 'double':  

Value = ((140 - CurrentDepth) / 140) * 100

if DWType == 'triple':  

Value = ((190 - CurrentDepth) / 190) * 100

return Value

Codeblock:

assginValue( !DRYW_DEPTH!, !Cur_BotDep!)

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

maybe you are missing a value, or one has an error in spelling, or a blank but assign a default value to check

Value = -999  # add this ad the top

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

maybe you are missing a value, or one has an error in spelling, or a blank but assign a default value to check

Value = -999  # add this ad the top
0 Kudos
ChristaRiley
New Contributor

This applied all the values I had selected as -999, but no error message. So it seems like Joe said, none of my statements are being evaluated as true. So I suppose I will have to dig deeper there to figure out why. Thanks for the help!

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

DWType  check the text case for that field since Single, single and SINGLE are all different.

You can alter your condition to check for leading trailing spaces as well as the case issue

lower(str(DWType).strip())

0 Kudos
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus