Erase Streets from Polygons

Jump to solution
09-01-2014 04:07 PM
JensWeißer
New Contributor

Hello,

I am a student who writes his Bachelor thesis.

I have to erase a line feature from a polygon feature(streets from areas of settlement or grassland)

because there es is no possibility to use the ERASE Tool, i would be thankful, if someone can hel me how I can erase a line from a area.

My Idea is, to use the Buffer Tool around the street, and ERASE this Polygon

(Second question does anybody know, if lines in ArcGis have certain wides, if i build the buffer or does the polygon builded by the buffer tool only exist of the buffer?)

Regards

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor

Lines have no width and cannot be erased from anything except an overlapping line.  Also roads are not lines in the real world, their actual physical dimensions should be shown as polygons on the ground.  Use the buffer tool as you have indicated and then erase the buffered polygons.  If you have street functional classifications you can make an educated guess at the buffer widths (half the street width).  You can assume between a 12 to 14 foot width for each paved street lane and a 7 to 10 foot width sidewalk/landscaped shoulder for each roadside for most urban roads.  Road rights-of-way will be wider than the road improvements normally.  You can look at road standard ordinances for your jurisdiction for more information.  For example, in my County the ordinance for road widths is at this link.  If you add a double field to the lines called BufferWidth you can use that field to adjust the buffer created for that roadway segment.

You can use the Field Calculator to translate a functional class field category to a buffer width using a calculation like this which applies to the California Functional Classifiications:

Parser:  VBA/VBScript

Show Codeblock:  Checked

PreLogic Code Block:

Select Case [CA_Functional_Class]