Densify Y-value seems incorrect?

07-09-2013 01:12 PM
ThomasDavis1
New Contributor
Hello, this is my first time posting on forums.arcgis.com so please forgive me if I haven't formatted my question correctly or followed correct submission protocol.

I am developing a desktop GIS product in C# using the ArcGis Runtime for WPF version 10.1.1

I have written a function that uses Densify to insert a point every 1/n-th subsegment of a two-point segment (e.g. if I had a segment between (100,1) and (200,5) this function could insert points at (125,2), (150,3), and (175,4) (where n == 0.25). 

When I run this function, I get almost what I expect.  The number of points and their X-values seem correct, but the Y-values of the inserted points seem drastically wrong.  Here is the function (the parameter "proportionFromStart" is analogous to n in my above example, all Geometry is projected in ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Projection.WebMercator)

private MapPoint GetPointAlongSingleSegment(object polylineSegment, double proportionFromStart)
        {
            ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Geometry.Polyline pL = polylineSegment as ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Geometry.Polyline;
            //control for extreme vaules
            if (pL.Paths.Count != 1 || pL.Paths[0].Count != 2)
            {
                Log.Error("GetPointAlongSingleSegment called on a polyline that is not a single (two-point) segment");
                return null;
            }
            double fullLength = ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Geometry.Geodesic.Length(pL);
            ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Geometry.Geometry densifiedGeometry =
                    ESRI.ArcGIS.Client.Geometry.Geodesic.Densify(pL, (fullLength * proportionFromStart));
   ///////...placed breakpoint here to inspect objects
        }

And here is the output when I inspect the original line (pL) and the densified line when proportionFromStart == 0.5:

pL.Paths[0]
Count = 2
    [0]: {Point[X=-8932651.10126309, Y=4313679.64989647]}