ArcGIS 10 (w/ SP2) crashes when running a simple model from Model Builder

11-02-2011 09:29 AM
StephanieShaw
New Contributor II
I created a simple model to derive Slope, Aspect, and Curvature from a DEM.  When I "run the entire model" or use the "run" toggle button..the model begins to run and then ArcGIS crashes.  When I open the output file location, I see that slope and aspect were created but curvature was not.  I tried to run just the curvature portion of the model and it again crashes. I have used model builder several times in 9.3.1 and I know it can be touchy, so I have learned what to look for...but this is my first time using it in version 10.  Suggestions??
0 Kudos
8 Replies
StephanieShaw
New Contributor II
troubleshooting continues...I went back in and check my geoprocessing environments, and geoprocessing options and they were correct, so that's not it.
0 Kudos
StephanieShaw
New Contributor II
I have tried renaming and that didn't work so...I decided to try the tool outside of model builder.  It is my tool. The curvature tool crashes ArcGIS even when not used in model builder with freshly re-downloaded source data (which is working for others) and all created names changed to something that has never been used before.
0 Kudos
ValentinaBoycheva
New Contributor III
I haven't used the DEM tools in version 10 yet, so these are general considerations.

Did you try inserting print statements after each critical step? At least you will figure out what exactly causes the crash. You mentioned renaming - I would use very short dataset names (starting with a letter), no slashes/underscores and other fancy symbols, location for FGDB and PGDB - just one level below root (C:\, D:\, etc), no UNC paths. Also try with a smaller subset - could be a matter of size (know this from my own bitter experience).

Regards,
Valentina Boycheva
0 Kudos
LarryHurst
New Contributor