How to optimize performance of db view based on STIntersect?

03-30-2016 03:52 PM
ForrestChevaillier1
New Contributor II

Hello all,

I have a grand master plan for how I want to set up our MS SQL database when we migrate our data this summer, and part of that includes having a MASTER database that contains base data (like parcels, roads, cities) that I show as views in other databases based on various geographies. I have written a query that does this using parcels from my MASTER_GIS database and a boundary from OTHER_GDB and stores the view in OTHER_GDB. In ArcMap, however, it runs painfully slow (when it draws at all). See said SQL query below:

USE OTHER_GDB

GO

CREATE VIEW dbo.parcelView

AS

SELECT parc.OBJECTID, parc.PROP_ID, parc.SITE_ADDR, parc.SHAPE

FROM MASTER_GIS.dbo.PARCELS AS parc

JOIN dbo.BOUNDARY AS boundary

ON

parc.SHAPE.STIntersects(boundary.SHAPE) = 1

My question: Is it possible to accomplish this and end up with usable feature class in ArcMap?

0 Kudos
3 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Cross-database queries will usually have poor performance, which is part of the reason they're not supported by ArcGIS.

In order to determine if anything could be done to improve this query, we'd need to know:

• How complex the "BOUNDARY" geometry is (number of vertices)
  • The ratio of the area of the envelope of BOUNDARY the area of the envelope of PARCELS
  • The exact time it takes to query BOUNDARY from a SQL prompt
  • The exact time it takes to query all of PARCELS from a SQL prompt
  • The exact time it takes to query the subset of PARCELS which intersect BOUNDARY from a SQL prompt
  • The exact time it takes to query the view from a SQL prompt
  • The exact time it takes to draw the view in ArcMap.
  • The spatial index options used on the PARCELS geometry column index

- V

JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor