create a webgis with web app builder starting with an existing postgreSQL database

07-08-2021 06:27 AM
ALESSANDRASPREAFICO
New Contributor II

Hi everyone, I am a PhD student at Politecnico di Torino (Italy) and I am currently working with an existing postgreSQL database running on a remote server in San Diego. 

I established the connection with a VPN and succesfully created the database connection in ArcGIS Pro 2.7.

I created the spatial type and enabled the database as enterprise geodatabase. I registered the tables already existing and I am able to edit them both in ArcGIS Pro and postgreSQL. I have to recreated the relationships because the foreign keys inserted in postgreSQL are not read by ArcGIS Pro. I add a new feature class and a table. Now I want to publish the geodatabase online, for example with Web App Builder that I have alredy tested publishing an ArcGIS project containing shapefiles.

I would like to publish all the entities contained in the remote geodatabase. Do I need to puslish it with ArcGIS Server? Or is there any other solution?

Thank you for the support

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Eduardo_Fernandez_EsriAu
New Contributor II

Hello. 

In ArcGIS Pro, when you publish (Share > Web Layer), you are creating a service definition that is uploaded to either ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise ( let's assume you are using ArcGIS Online as your portal for the web gis you wish to create). The publishing process leverages off python library which are installed with ArcGIS Pro. If you are publishing to ArcGIS Online, you do not need ArcGIS Server to publish.

During the publishing process, all your data stored in postgresql will be copied and packaged with the service definition and then uploaded and stored in ArcGIS Online ( this is known as a hosted layer). ArcGIS Online (being a Software as a Service model) cannot reference your database directly (ArcGIS Enterprise via ArcGIS Server can).

Introduction to sharing web layers—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation