I Applied to Esri 64 Times Before Getting Hired and Here’s What I Learned

11-16-2022 12:03 PM
Zak
by Esri Contributor
Esri Contributor
9 3 7,213

It's true! I applied to Esri 64 times before getting hired and 63 of those times I watched as the application status changed from “in review” to “not a match.  

To be completely truthful, it stung every time I checked my application status… and I would check every morning, but there were very critical and valuable lessons I learned through this process that I think would help you if you are going through the same thing, either at Esri or another GIS career aspiration.  

At this point in my life, I was a recent college graduate applying for any opportunity I could reasonably “qualify” for. What to do and what not to do when applying for jobs was not in any course curriculum in college. 

Zak_0-1668623184897.png

I had heard back from a few different companies, and even moved pretty far through the interview processes, but they could tell my heart just wasn’t in it. Sure, working for a Construction company that is using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to increase efficiency and map new locations for storage sounds interesting, but it wasn’t my passion. 

Here’s what I did to not get noticed

I wanted to work for Esri, I wanted to help grow innovation in GIS. I heard of Esri in college and the more I learned, the more I respected their mission, the amazing team culture, and what Jack and Laura Dangermond do for environmental conservation. 

I didn’t care so much for what I specifically did as long as it involved working in a GIS technical position. So, I applied for everything, and I mean everything. If it said 1-2 years of experience that meant entry level to me. In hindsight, of course, this was my first mistake.