Building Your GIS Network: 5 Tips for International Students

05-21-2024 10:54 AM
OluwaferanmiAkinyemi
New Contributor III
13 14 1,074

feranmi-ypn-blog-headshot-800px.jpgBuilding a strong network in the GIS space is crucial for international students studying in the United States, especially if you utilize GIS tools in your career as a geographer, GIS analyst, urban planner, statistician, etc. It not only allows for professional growth and development, but it also builds relationships that can lead to internships, career opportunities, and partnerships.

My name is Oluwaferanmi Akinyemi. I hold a bachelor’s degree in geography (meteorology) at the Federal University of Technology Minna, Nigeria, and I am currently pursuing a master’s degree in geography at Kent State University, Ohio, USA.

In this blog post, I'll give some helpful tips for international students like me on how to properly build their GIS networks.

Tip 1: Join GIS Associations and Organizations

Joining GIS groups is an excellent opportunity to meet like-minded people, learn from seasoned experts, and keep up with industry trends. Find local chapters of organizations such as Esri Young Professionals Network (YPN), URISA, Women in GIS, USGIF, ASPRS, EDGE, AAG, and Esri  Community and sign up as a member.

Being a member of the Esri YPN has helped me to connect with students and professionals alike, to share my interests and my past projects, and get to know about what other people are doing, to share ideas, and to collaborate.

I encourage you to attend meetings, workshops, and conferences to connect with other students and professionals. You can also volunteer in these groups if you have the opportunity, since this will allow you to connect with other professionals, especially if you are reluctant to strike up a conversation.

Becoming involved in an association like AAG can open many doors as it did for me.Becoming involved in an association like AAG can open many doors as it did for me.