Does Geoportal toolkit is ArcGIS Server services dependent?

12-06-2010 12:49 AM
GalAvraham
New Contributor II
Hi All
I'm new to the Geoportal Toolkit. I crossed its functionality looking for a solution to the mid-weight firm  I'm working for. I'll briefly introduce our needs hopefully some of you will be able to clarify whether  or  not the Geoportal is a suitable solution for our needs.
Our firm is within the field of Surveying and Engineering. As a such most of its projects inputs/outputs data format are taken from the CAD/GIS world, both in vector (dwg/dxf/shp/coverage) and raster (tiff/JPG/ecw etc.) formats. As for now, all project data and information are organized within the firm's local network, in different directories/sub directories. We are looking for a solution that, given a well documented metadata regarding the mass of stored data (a mission that for itself is exhaustive and hard labor), will assist the firm users in locating the relevant project data and information by means of both spatial and none spatial (i.e text phrases) search capabilities: drawing the approximate project extent on a map/using some code words, or the integration of both. Once the search query is executed and returned from the server, the user will be able to sort through a list of candidate data sources relevant to the search criteria. The user will be than able to download the data to his own workstation, or alternatively, will be given the possibility to browse to the location where the files are stored, and than to copy the data to his workstation using the OS capabilities.
Going over the Geoportal documentation, I understand such working scenario is supported by the Geoportal Toolkit. What I'm missing is whether or not such scenario is dependant on consuming ArcGIS Server services for displaying the map and extracting the data from it's storage location (using the download tab, as mentioned here: http://webhelp.esri.com/geoportal_extension/9.3.1/gpt_datadownload.htm).