Best practices for archiving AGOL maps and applications

11-12-2019 08:56 AM
Labels (2)
Highlighted
New Contributor II

I am fairly new to ArcGIS (so bear with me) but I am trying to sort our a decent workflow for better archiving of student produced content on our AGOL organizational account.

We have a robust undergraduate research program - and some of the students' capstone or theses projects take the the form of a StoryMap. We would like to be able to archive them in some form as we do with textual theses and dissertations from our colleges.

We don't have enough seats in our account to keep every student ever enrolled on our organizational license. Our "good enough" method has been to use the delete protection checkbox on the item, and transfer ownership to one of our admins when the student graduates.

It's not really "preservation" though and certainly isn't scaleable. I'm interested to hear how other institutions have worked with similar challenges.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor II

Preserving or archiving interactive web content in general is a complex problem. I too would be happy to hear if someone has solved it for StoryMaps 🙂

The classic Cascade StoryMap app supports PDF (see Printing a Cascade Story), and such support is planned for the new StoryMaps. You lose interactivity when you export a StoryMap as a PDF, however, you might be willing to make that sacrifice to gain longevity in terms of preservation of one view of the StoryMap's content.

What time period are you shooting for in terms of "preservation"?