Is an Esri license required for (my) use of the Qt Geoservices plugin?

Jump to solution
05-03-2021 08:39 AM
PatrickLynn
New Contributor II

I would like to use the Qt Geoservices plugin to provide basemaps in a Windows desktop application for which I am a developer. The app will not be using geocoding or routing. I would like to know what sort of licensing, if any, is required for this use.

The plugin I'm referring to is part of the Qt Location module, specifically one of the plugins provided for the QML Map type. The Qt documentation for the Esri plugin states that "This geo services plugin allows applications to access Esri location based services using the Qt Location API. The use of these services is governed by the Esri terms of use." However, I can't find any information about the plugin when I follow the "terms of use" link (http://www.esri.com/legal/terms-use). The Qt documentation goes on to say that one condition is that "The app does not directly generate revenue. That is, end users must be able to obtain it and to use it for free.". Our app does have a licensing fee, so does that mean that we can't use the plugin?

A related question was asked here in 2018 (@https://community.esri.com/t5/developers-questions/esri-vs-arcgis-runtime-sdk-for-qt/td-p/394474) and part of the answer is: "If you are using the Esri Qt Geoservices plugin with a non-Esri service, you do not need any Esri licenses." The answer goes on to imply that routing is an Esri service, but basemaps are not. This would lead me to conclude that our usage would not require a Developer subscription.

Any clarification or a pointer to whom I should contact would be greatly appreciated.

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
John-Foster
Esri Contributor

If you are solely using the Qt plugin and you are not using ArcGIS Runtime, such as ArcGIS Runtime API for Qt, then you do not need an ArcGIS Runtime license.