Trying to write a python script to access data from attribute tables

Jump to solution
07-22-2014 09:28 AM
ThomasCaruso
New Contributor III

Hi folks. I'm new to both GIS and programming and am attempting to combine the two. I need a python script that will read down a particular column of the attribute table of a particular layer, then check it against a column in the attribute table of another layer. Both of these columns will contain strings. If the two match, then the script should input "YES" into another field in the first layer.

I honestly have no idea how to even start this. I've read through esri's help section and have a very basic grasp of python but I'm unsure of how to get the script to actually access the attribute tables. Any help would be very greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance! If there's a better place to post this, please let me know.

Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

If you want to know which parcel the well point is on, why not do a spatial join first, that way you only need to iterate over 1 attribute table, after you do the spatial join.

ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

You will need to add another field to your points, so you can put "YES" it in.‌

This way you should only need 1 search cursor, which will need the the field names for the well owner, parcel owner, and field name that will contain the "Yes".

so after doing a spatial join and adding your new field it would look something like this.

import arcpy

wells = "path here"

wellowner  = "Owner" #or whatever your field name is

parcelowner = "Owner1" #or whatever your field name is

with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(wells, [wellowner, parcelowner, "Nameofyournewfieldhere"]) as cursor:

for row in cursor:

if row[0] == row[1]:

row[2] = "YES"

cursor.updateRow(row)

else:

continue

You did pretty well with your code, cursors can take a little while to get use to.

A little critique of your code:

import arcpy #perfect!