Polygon reshaping itself issue

Jump to solution
09-17-2013 09:19 AM
dl
by
New Contributor III
I'm having an issue with Arcmap. I have created a new blank shapefile, and am drawing a polygon using the "construction tools" in the editing window. I created the new shapefile, clicked start editing, clicked polygon, and then when I draw the shape I want (I am tracing another layer underneath), the polygon distorts and kind of averages out a few of the areas when I click "finish sketch." I want the polygon to follow the shape I draw exactly, and not cut off extremities. I am not very experienced so I am probably making a simple mistake, any help is appreciated, thanks.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
dl
by
New Contributor III
Okay, an analyst helped me and here was the solution: I was working in a geographic coordinate system which spanned too large an area for the high level of detail I was working at. We re-projected into an NAD coordinate system close to my area and it works fine now. Thanks for the help, much appreciated.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
TimWitt
Frequent Contributor
Are you using the trace tool on your edit bar? If not, try using that. Just select the polygon you would like to trace and then start digitizing your new polygon.
0 Kudos
dl
by
New Contributor III
Are you using the trace tool on your edit bar? If not, try using that. Just select the polygon you would like to trace and then start digitizing your new polygon.

Hmm, the image I am trying to trace underneath is not a polygon itself, it is an aerial photograph. Imagine the shape of a building, I want to create a polygon in that shape. However when I trace it out correctly, and click finish sketch, the polygon distorts, cutting offany extremities.
0 Kudos
TimWitt
Frequent Contributor
Did you by chance Georeference your image before you started editing?
0 Kudos
dl
by
New Contributor III
Did you by chance Georeference your image before you started editing?