Please help, Wrong Projection??

Jump to solution
03-25-2016 08:40 PM
BadWolf
New Contributor III

Dear all,

First of all I am new to ArcGis

I was given a shapefile with the information of the bathymetry of a Portuguese river reach. In the same shapefile "package" there was one file with the information of the projection, a *.prj file.

I have loaded the shapefile on ArcGis and I got this information:

Projected Coordinate System:Lisbon_Lisbon_Portuguese_Grid
Projection:Transverse_Mercator
false_easting:0,00000000
false_northing:0,00000000
central_meridian:1,00000000
scale_factor:1,00000000
latitude_of_origin:39,66666667
Linear Unit:Meter

Geographic Coordinate System:GCS_Lisbon (Lisbon)
Datum:D_Lisbon
Prime Meridian:Lisbon
Angular Unit:Degree

This should be correct, but I used "layer to KML" and checked the location of this river in Google Earth, and it was placed on the sea, near Ibiza island. And this is a Portuguese river reach...

So, something is not correct here and I really do not know what can I do to project this river in the correct place... Can someone help me?

I know exactly the location of the river reach on Google Earth!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

see if you can project the file to a geographic coordinate system first (aka a GCS WGS 84 or something standard).  It may be the projected to projected coordinate system that is the issue.  So in summary, project to decimal degrees, then project from decimal degrees to that webbie projection

View solution in original post

10 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

You will have to project your data to a WGS 1984 Web Mercator (Auxiliary Sphere) coordinate system... for example

Not lining up with Google Earth even after changing the projection

NeilAyres
MVP Alum

And use the appropriate datum transformation between the Lisbon datum and WGS84.

NeilAyres
MVP Alum

But be careful.