Opening a shp file: One or more layers failed to draw. There was a problem drawing the shapefile. Drawing aborted

Jump to solution
03-10-2016 10:50 AM
CindyChua
New Contributor

Hi all,

I'm new to ArcMap, and trying to open up a shp file created by someone else (uploaded on a public domain) on railroads in the US. However, I've been encountering the following error:

"One or more layers failed to draw:

(layer name): There was a problem drawing the shapefile. Drawing aborted."

Although the map still shows up, I cannot use it for any further analysis. I have tried re-downloading the file, used different computers, and following some recommendations found online, repairing the geometry and Shape Checker by A. Williamson. The first ran successfully, but did not solve the error. The second detected too many records in dbf file and deleted 29 trailing records, but did not solve the problem either.

I would greatly appreciate any advice on how to solve this issue. Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ChrisSmith7
Frequent Contributor

No problem - the easiest way to do it would be like so:

1) Within ArcMap, make sure you have no records selected by choosing the "clear features" option in the top menu bar (just to make sure none are selected - it'll be greyed-out if none are selected):

2) Next, right click on the layer in the TOC and choose "export data" under the "Data" option:

3) In the "Export Data" window, navigate to your default geodatabase, which should be in "Home - Documents\ArcGIS"

4) In the "Save as type" drop-down, choose "File and Personal Geodatabase feature classes" (this will expose the scratch geodatabase):

5) Double-click Default.gdb

6) Once you are inside the gdb, name it whatever you'd like (though there are some limitations... just keep it short and without any special chars, and don't start it with a number)  - in this case, I named it "RR_FC"

7) Click "Save"

😎 Click "OK"