How to delete SDE database that was already dropped in SQL Server

Jump to solution
06-23-2016 11:41 AM
GeorgeClark
New Contributor III

I am relatively new to the ArcGIS world but am experienced with SQL Server.  We are geo-enabling a database that already exists in SQL Server.  In preparation for deploying to Test and later to Production, I am writing a how to guide, to make all the steps consistently reproducible.  Before starting, I took a backup of the database.  After geo-enabling the database, I missed documenting a step in ArcCatalog.  Without thinking, I quickly dropped the database in SQL Server, and restored it from the backup, to simply start over.  Now, although the restored non-geo-enabled database is what I have in SQL Server, ArcCatalog still sees the database as geo-enabled.  In ArcCatalog, when I right-click on the database connection, the Enable Geodatabase option is disabled.

Corrective action so far.

Delete the connection in ArcCatalog and recreate it:  No help.

Delete the connection in ArcCatalog, then drop the database in SQL Server, then restore the database with the same name, then recreate the db connection:  No help.

Basically is seems that ArcCatalog now/still recognizes the database as a geo-enabled and registered database.  I do not want to change the name of the database.

How can I clean this one database out and start over?

GeodatabaseEnterprise GIS

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
GeorgeClark
New Contributor III

Firstly, thanks to Asrujit and Rex for your assistance, I appreciate it.

For a reason unrelated to this issue, at the end of the day, we restarted our ArcGIS server.  We added
RAM and had to restart.