How to Delete Area and or Length fields?

09-05-2018 11:36 AM
MattStull
New Contributor III

I want to preface my question by telling everyone who reads this that I have been a GIS pro since the 90's and have worked with ESRI products since that time, so here is my question...    I have a point feature class that has Area and Length fields that I can't delete (I'm aware that some fields can't be deleted).  It doesn't make sense to me why a point feature class would need area and length fields.  Is there a way I can delete them other than creating a new layer and loading my data into it excluding the area and length fields?  This feature class is in a 10.3.1 Enterprise Geodatabase and I am connected to it using the sa account from SQL Server.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
9 Replies
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Matt,

Strange I have never seen a Point FC containing a Area and Length field. Is it SHAPE.area and SHAPE.len? What enterprise GDB are you using?

MattStull
New Contributor III

I am using the SQL Server (2014) Enterprise Geodatabase, version 10.3.1.  

Here is a screenshot form the Feature Class Properties window on these two fields:

0 Kudos
RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Matt,

What geometry storage type are you using in your GDB?

MattStull
New Contributor III

They are in the Geometry spatial type.  Does that answer your question?

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Does the file represent the centroids of some feature?  They could be remnants of their previous incarnation as polygons.

0 Kudos
MattStull
New Contributor III

This might be the case, I will have to check with the person who made it years ago.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

This thread got bumped up today... was it indeed the centroids of a polygon? or did you get a chance to check

0 Kudos
MattStull
New Contributor III