How to create a polygon grid using 'irregular' underlying points?

09-04-2012 01:59 PM
JennyCunningham
New Contributor
Hello.  I have study plots on the ground, each made up of an alpha-numeric grid.  Since it is impossible to physically lay out a perfect grid in the field, the stakes are not perfectly aligned, and I am using actual grid-stake coordinates in GIS (ArcMap 9.3, but I may have access to 10 if needed).  I want to create a polygon grid over these stake (point) coordinates in GIS, where lines intersect on the actual points.  This is the first step...from here I need to divide each resulting grid square into quarters.  I am a graduate student and something of a novice with Arc, but have tried to teach myself a fair bit over the past year.  A novice-level answer would be much appreciated.  Thanks!
4 Replies
SamCoggins1
New Contributor III
You can use the Fishnet tool to make a grid that would be the same extent as your grid. Alternatively, if your grid extent isn't large, then just make a new line shapefile (or other feature class) and manually draw the lines that intersect the points. You may be able to draw in the sub-divisional lines after this... ?
0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: larkspur

You can use the Fishnet tool to make a grid that would be the same extent as your grid. Alternatively, if your grid extent isn't large, then just make a new line shapefile (or other feature class) and manually draw the lines that intersect the points. You may be able to draw in the sub-divisional lines after this... ?