How do I normalize raster data?

01-26-2012 01:30 PM
TaylerHamilton
New Contributor II
I want to combine different raster layers, but need the data to be measured at the same numerical scale. Therefore, I would like to normalize all of the different layers so I can add them together, and then renormalize them.

I am not very good with statistics in general, and am unsure of how to even normalize a data set. I know there are multiple equations to do this, but don't know which one is right for me.

But if we were to use the equation:

Z = X - u / std

Where, Z - the normalized value;
u - mean; and,
std - standard deviation;

How would I calculate this in a raster?

I have tried using "Calculate Statistics" (Data Management Tools) because I assumed it would calculate mean and standard deviation for me, but I don't know where the output goes, as I can't choose that in the window. Also, the information on what this tool actually calculates is pretty limited in desktop help.

I have thought about using Focal Statistics to calculate mean and standard deviation individually, but I run into the problem of what scale to use - I want it to include the entire raster in the calculation. This tool would give me different outputs for mean and standard deviation, which I could then put into the raster calculator to solve the normalization equation.

Can someone please let me know if using Focal Statistics is the best way to go about this? Am I even using the right equation to normalize my data?

Any input is GREATLY appreciated!!
18 Replies
DanielAmrine
Occasional Contributor

I am in a similar situation but I would like to reclassify my raster data into a correlation range of -1 to 1. I know I can classify my original raster and use the re-class tool, but I would prefer to use the raster calculator to do this so I can preserve the "Shape" of my raster.

I tried the (x-min(x))/(max(x)-min(x)) and it normalized to 0-1.

Thanks for your help!

Dan

0 Kudos
FlorianHoedt2