Georeferencing - Map disappears after adding two control points

Jump to solution
08-28-2015 06:28 AM
AnthonySharp
New Contributor

Good Day,

I have been georeferencing Sanborn Fire Insurance maps and up until now haven't had a problem. I've been adding them to my map one by one and then digitizing them. The one I have been trying to add disappears after adding two control points. I've tried this at least 10 times. I have not been able to find anything concerning this issue. In addition, I am new to gis. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Best,

Anthony

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
V_StuartFoote
MVP Frequent Contributor

Spoke with Tony this morning, he's one of our grad students here at UT San Antonio,  and is teaching himself ArcGIS to do an independent study.

Seems he has some issues with the Link Tables while georeferencing, and we think he had the "Auto Adjust" check box set when he started with a new image--losing the image when the second link was entered. He's going to check next time.

I'll be having him review the on-line help article starting with:

Fundamentals of georeferencing

And we'll get together at some point to review his work flow to digitize off the georeferenced/rectified Sanborn map sheets.

Thanks!

Stuart

View solution in original post

7 Replies
TimothyHales
Esri Notable Contributor

Anthony Sharp​ If you are looking to create a blog as your title implies then review this document - Creating Blog Posts​.

For georeferencing issues, you might move your discussion to Managing Data​ or Mapping

RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Anthony, what us the source of your Sanborn Fire maps?  Are they local graphic files, I.e. .tiff or .jpg?  Something you scanned yourself, purchased, or downloaded? Does the file display without issue outside of  ArcGIS?   That is, can you confirm the file is not corrupt?

0 Kudos
AnthonySharp
New Contributor

Thanks for your response. They are jpg images from a University's website