Create new feature class in existing SQL Server Enterprise Geodatabase

01-10-2014 11:24 AM
AndrewL
Occasional Contributor II
Hi I am pretty new to SQL server. I just want to create a new feature class in the SQL Server Enterprise Geodatabase.

I am able to view my sde connection (obs.sde) in ArcCatalog and connect. There are existing feature classes within the geodatabase. These were created by my predecessor. I was hoping it would be as simple as right-clicking the connection file and selecting 'Create new feature class', but that is not an option.

I have used Management Studio to login to the SQL Server in order to create queries to view and delete data.

I'm not really sure where to start. I haven't found any tutorials on this.

Thank you for any help.
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Occasional Contributor III
Right-click your SDE connection in ArcCatalog, then click New.

Also, as a general rule, it is unwise to manipulate your geodatabase using your DBMS manager (SQL Server Management Studio).  You should do your best to use geodatabase-aware tools instead.  I have only encountered a single situation in which I absolutely had to manipulate something from SSMS, and it was an absolute fluke which now has a COTS workaround.
0 Kudos
AndrewL
Thank you for the quick response!

I did right-click, but I do not see "New." Perhaps I do not have sufficient permissions? If not I can talk to someone about that.

If I right-click "Administration", "Administer Geodatabase.." and "Compress Geodatabase" are grayed out.

Thank you.
0 Kudos
Occasional Contributor III
That is interesting.  If you can connect and you can delete from SSMS, permissions seem an unlikely cause, but it might be worth checking.  I am curious; are there other ways in which your right-click context menu differs from mine (attached)?
0 Kudos
AndrewL